

# VETERANS TIME TRIALS ASSOCIATION (KENT GROUP)

#### **30 Mile Time Trial**

Course Q30/3
Ham Street – Brooklands – Cloverleaf – Brooklands – Ham Street

VTTA Kent Group Championships, BBAR & ECCA BAR Counting Event

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations

#### Sunday 24th April 2022 07:00

Well done to all the riders who turned up and completed what turned out to be a shortened event (24.69 miles)

When doing the risk assessment and putting out the signs this morning I found the level crossing closed for maintenance works between Brenzett roundabout (RAB) and Brooklands RAB.

To ensure a ride was possible we missed out that leg. Moving the start or finish was not possible this morning.

Thanks from me to my group of helpers, without you we would not be able to do events like this, and many thankyou's to you from the riders.

Start time keeper Chris Burrows, start official and pusher off Bob Giles, Andy McCall on the left turn, Dick Claxton, Mark Amon and Vicky Norton at Brenzett RAB, a very enthusiastic Don Dewar and Mick Claydon at Cloverleaf RAB, Alec Mayes on the pedestrian crossing, Bob Burden and Stewart King at Cloverleaf RAB, Dave Mastin and Andy McCall sorting out times at the finish.

Not forgetting Colin Inett who went to help out at Brenzett and Paul Griffiths who helped back at the Pavilion as their RAB at Brooklands was not used.

Bob Giles doubled up and did the results board for us in the Pavillion.

It was a fine morning, sunny, about 8 deg. C with an ever increasing north, north easterly breeze. From a small field of 30 we only had 6 non-starters and 1 DNF. Thoughts from us all for David Greenwood who punctured at the top of the course.

Many riders commented that it was a block headwind on the leg from Brenzett to the turn at Cloverleaf. It did make for a quick leg from Cloverleaf back to Brenzett. Nick Fennell said it's the fastest leg he has ever had on this course.

Back at Hamstreet Pavilion there were DIY refreshments and a selection of homemade cakes that went down well with the riders and helpers.

Thanks to Tracy Henderson and me for the cakes.

This Veteran Time Trial Association (Kent) event did not disappoint for some riders.

Awards were presented to the riders and expenses to the helpers to some generous applause from those present. (If you did not collect your award/expenses please contact me and I will transfer it to you)

Mark Hill (VeloRefined Rule 5) was fastest Kent veteran on age standard and fastest male veteran on actual time with a 55:38.

Joy Payne (High Wycombe CC) was fastest female veteran on actual time with a 01:05:38.

Fastest rider of the day was local rider and winner of 5 national titles in 2021 Chris Fennell (The Independent Pedaler- Nopinz) with 50:01.

### VTTA (Kent) Awards – Veteran Riders

1st on age standard: Mark Hill VeloRefined Rule 5 +12:22 £40

2<sup>nd</sup> on age standard: Steve Gooch Rye & District Wheelers CC +11:40 £30

3<sup>rd</sup> on age standard: Julian Fussell Southborough & District Wheelers +08:14 £20

4<sup>th</sup> on age standard: Dave Hampton Ashford Wheelers + 07:52 £15

#### VTTA (Nat) Awards - Veteran Riders

Fastest female veteran on actual time Joy Payne High Wycombe CC 01:05:38 £15 Fastest male veteran on actual time Mark Hill VeloRefined Rule 5 55:38 £15

1<sup>st</sup> Club team of two on age standard Andy Robinson Ashford Wheelers +08:39 £10 David Hampton Ashford Wheelers +07:52 £10

#### Non Veteran Awards

Fastest male rider - Chris Fennell (The Independent Pedaler- Nopinz) with 50:01. £15 Fastest female rider – not awarded

#### **VETERAN RESULTS**

Veteran standard times have been adjusted for the actual distance ridden 24.69 miles (thanks Bob Giles)

	NAME	NAME	GENDER	CLUB	VET STD	TIME	VET +/-	GROUP
1	Joy	Payne	Female	High Wycombe CC	01:18:13	01:05:38	00:12:35	L&HC
2	Mark	Hill	Male	VeloRefined Rule 5	01:08:00	00:55:38	00:12:22	<mark>Kent</mark>
				Rye & District				
3	Steve	Gooch	Male	Wheelers CC	01:08:30	00:56:50	00:11:40	<mark>Kent</mark>
4	Matthew	Smith	Male	Colour Tech RT	01:05:31	00:55:58	00:09:33	
5	Keith	Walker	Male	Wigmore CC	01:08:46	00:59:23	00:09:23	
6	Andy	Robinson	Male	Ashford Whs	01:10:37	01:01:58	00:08:39	
				Southborough &				
7	Julian	Fussell	Male	Dist. Whs	01:06:40	00:58:26	00:08:14	<mark>Kent</mark>
8	Lucia	Borradaile	Female	CC Weymouth	01:17:48	01:09:50	00:07:58	Wessex
9	David	Hampton	Male	Ashford Whs	01:07:45	00:59:53	00:07:52	<mark>Kent</mark>
10	Adrian	Stead	Male	Thanet RC	01:08:00	01:00:33	00:07:27	Kent
11	Benjamin	Jones	Male	Penge Cycle Club	01:07:31	01:00:07	00:07:24	Kent
12	Lee	Buckman	Male	Ashford Whs	01:06:28	01:00:37	00:05:51	
13	Michael	Newman	Male	Ashford Whs	01:09:20	01:04:39	00:04:41	Kent
14	Colin	Ashcroft	Male	West Kent RC	01:09:20	01:06:14	00:03:06	Kent

15	Andy	Burrows	Male	Thanet RC	01:18:44	01:19:24	-00:00:40	
16	Mike	Perry	Male	Thanet RC	01:17:20	01:19:24	-00:02:04	Kent
17	Lesley	Newman	Female	Ashford Whs	01:15:58	01:21:39	-00:05:41	Kent
				Rye & District				
	David	Greenwood	Male	Wheelers CC	01:08:46	DNF-P	-	Kent
				Endurance X				
	Neill	Keaney	Male	Nature RC	01:05:21	DNS	-	Kent
	Kevin	Tye	Male	VeloRefined Rule 5	01:09:38	DNS	-	Kent
	Paul	Burrows	Male	Thanet RC	01:05:53	DNS-A	-	Kent
	Mathew	Lister	Male	Thanet RC	01:05:21	DNS-A	-	Kent
	Andrew	Meilak	Male	VeloRefined Rule 5	01:08:15	DNS-A	-	Kent

## **EVENT RESULTS**

	First Name	Last Name	Club	Time	Vet +/-	Vet Grp	Bib
			The Independent Pedaler -			Gib	
1	Christopher	Fennell	Nopinz	00:50:01	-		30
2	Nicholas	Fennell	Thanet RC	00:52:23	-		10
3	Mark	Hill	VeloRefined Rule 5	00:55:38	00:12:22	Kent	25
4	Matthew	Smith	Colour Tech RT	00:55:58	00:09:33		22
5	Steve	Gooch	Rye & District Wheelers CC	00:56:50	00:11:40	Kent	5
6	Martin	Fenna	Ashford Whs	00:57:00	-		1
7	Julian	Fussell	Southborough & Dist. Whs	00:58:26	00:08:14	Kent	18
8	Keith	Walker	Wigmore CC	00:59:23	00:09:23		21
9	Samuel	Robinson	Ashford Whs	00:59:32	-		27
10	David	Hampton	Ashford Whs	00:59:53	00:07:52	Kent	26
11	Benjamin	Jones	Penge Cycle Club	01:00:07	00:07:24	Kent	19
12	Adrian	Stead	Thanet RC	01:00:33	00:07:27	Kent	14
14	Lee	Buckman	Ashford Whs	01:00:37	00:05:51		16
15	Owen	Fletcher	Ashford Whs	01:01:06	-		24
16	Andy	Robinson	Ashford Whs	01:01:58	00:08:39		11
17	Michael	Newman	Ashford Whs	01:04:39	00:04:41	Kent	7
18	Joy	Payne	High Wycombe CC	01:05:38	00:12:35	L&HC	6
19	Colin	Ashcroft	West Kent RC	01:06:14	00:03:06	Kent	29
20	Liam	Fletcher	Ashford Whs	01:07:27	-		2
21	Lucia	Borradaile	CC Weymouth	01:09:50	00:07:58	Wessex	4
					-		
22	Mike	Perry	Thanet RC	01:19:24	00:02:04	Kent	3
23	Andy	Burrows	Thanet RC	01:19:24	- 00:00:40		8
					-		
24	Lesley	Newman	Ashford Whs	01:21:39	00:05:41	Kent	9
	David	Greenwood	Rye & District Wheelers CC	DNF-P	-	Kent	17
	Neill	Keaney	Endurance X Nature RC	DNS	-	Kent	12
	Kevin	Tye	VeloRefined Rule 5	DNS	-	Kent	20
	Ben	White	Swale Tri Club	DNS	-		23
	Paul	Burrows	Thanet RC	DNS-A	-	Kent	15
	Mathew	Lister	Thanet RC	DNS-A	-	Kent	28
	Andrew	Meilak	VeloRefined Rule 5	DNS-A	-	Kent	31

## VTTA EVENT SECRETARY:

Simon Henderson, 9, Minster Road, RAMSGATE, Kent. CT11 0JL. Mobile 07813085640 Email – <u>Simon Henderson</u>